Diabetic Screening

Walsall has a successful Diabetic Screening service. There are many practices that offer this service that can be found in the link below. The practices involved take photographs and then all grading is carried out centrally at Heartlands Hospital. It is a requirement to complete the relevant City and Guilds units to be allowed to capture photographs, as well as attending a 3 day course at Heartlands.

More information on screening can be found at www.retinalscreening.co.uk

AOP Advice on Screening and GOS Sight tests

Walsall screening locations

 

Walsall Manor Hospital, Retinal Screening Room 14, Route 007, Pleck Road, Walsall, WS2 9PS Tel: 01922 656415 Hospital transport is available for eligible patients only.

Boots Opticians, 42 High Street, Brownhills, Walsall, WS8 6EL Tel: 01543 372696

MG Wheeler, 37a High Street, Pelsall, WS3 4LX Tel: 01922 683080

Michael Hill Opticians, 198a High Street, Bloxwich, Walsall, WS3 3LA Tel: 01922 475388

Colin Lee Opticians, 7-9 Anchor Parade, Aldridge, Walsall, WS9 8QP Tel: 01922 454151

Davis and Samuels, Darwall Street, Walsall, WS1 1DA Tel: 01922 626500

Visioncare Direct, 13 Stafford Street, Willenhall, WV13 1TG Tel: 01902 609244

4Sight Opticians, 50 Park Mall, Saddlers Centre, Walsall, WS1 1YS Tel: 01922 613433

Scrivens Opticians, 33 Cross Street, Willenhall, WV13 1PG Tel: 01902 605386

Moores Dispensing Opticians, 73 Bradford Street, Walsall, WS1 3QD Tel: 01922 623469

Pleck Eyecare Centre, 250 Wednesbury Road, Pleck, WS2 9QN Tel: 01922 616141

 

Useful Contacts for Diabetic Screening

 

General Enquiries, 0333 456 7887

Debbie Cartwright, Personal Assistant to Retinal Screening, Invoicing optometrists and general administration and assistance to departmental Management

0121 424 3049

debbie.cartwright@heartofengland.nhs.uk

Margaret Clarke, Clinical Director, Clinical Lead for programme

0121 424 2593

margaret.clarke@heartofengland.nhs.uk

Rebecca Smith, Joint Programme Manager/Failsafe Manager, Administration.

0121 424 0105

rebecca.smith1@heartofengland.nhs.uk

Paul Galsworthy, Joint Programme Manager/Centre Manager, Screening & grading/centre management

0121 424 2039

paul.galsworthy@heartofengland.nhs.uk

David Roy, Clinical Governance Manager, Clinical Governance

0121 424 0954

david.roy@heartofengland.nhs.uk

Andrew Mills, IT Manager

0121 424 2632

andrew.mills2@nhs.net

Laurence Quant, Deputy IT Manager, Deputising for IT Manager

0121 424 2632

laurence.quant@heartofengland.nhs.uk

Gerry Corry, IT Technician

0121 424 0957

gerry.corry@heartofengland.nhs.uk

Neil Wilkinson, IT Technician/Screener/Grader

0121 424 3049

neil.wilkinson@heartofengland.nhs.uk